Published: Apr 27, 2021 · Updated: Apr 29, 2021 through Katie | Wheat through the Wayside · This short article may save affiliate links, through which I might earn a tiny commission at no extra price to you.

You are watching: Are chicken bouillon cubes gluten free



Ever was standing in the grocery aisle wondering, is bouillon is gluten-free? In this article, friend will find out which red-flag ingredients to look the end for and take a look in ~ a few popular brands to uncover out if they lug gluten-free bouillon.

*
Photo by Brooke Lark ~ above Unsplash

Scan the bouillon section of your regional grocery store and you"ll probably stand over there a small confused as to which bouillon you have the right to safely buy. That"s due to the fact that bouillon is a tricky food when it concerns the gluten-free diet. At an initial thought, most wouldn"t even take into consideration that bouillon would certainly contain wheat in the first place however the reality is, some of them do! Also, bouillons often tend to contain number of red-flag ingredients, that may or may not be derived from wheat or barley. This reiterates the prominence of reading labels and doing product research once on a strictly gluten-free diet.

Jump to:

Ingredients come Look out For

There are number of ingredients in any type of bouillon cube or powder that could be harboring gluten. Several of the possible gluten-containing ingredients you may discover are:

WheatWheat proteinsYeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast ExtractNatural Flavors

Aside native containing really wheat, these various other ingredients might or may not it is in gluten-free. Because that example, yeast extract may contain gluten from barley and also should only be consumed if labeled gluten-free. Natural flavors have the right to be acquired from wheat, barley, or malt in some instances, although not as common.

If you view these ingredients, you should:

Avoid the product.In the instance of yeast extract or organic flavors, view if a grain source is detailed or look because that a gluten-free case on the label.

Popular Bouillon Brands

Let"s take it a closer look in ~ the most popular bouillon brands and see what each firm has come say about the gluten-free condition of your products.


Is far better Than Bouillon gluten free?

No. While far better Than Bouillon offered to be labeled gluten-free, they have actually since readjusted their stance. They no longer make gluten-free cases upon any far better Than Bouillon Food Bases.


Are BOU Bouillon cubes gluten-free?

Yes, BOU chicken, vegetable, and also beef bouillon cubes room gluten-free.


Is Herb-Ox bouillon gluten free?

Yes, if labeling gluten-free. Herb-Ox will certainly declare wheat, rye, or barley if castle are used in a product. Herb-ox lists beef, chicken, and vegetable bouillon as gluten-free.


Is Knorr bouillon gluten free?

Yes, if labeled gluten-free.Knorr recommends consumers check out the brand each time prior to buying any product. If gluten is present, the is plainly listed in level language ~ above the ingredient label (i.e., wheat flour, rye, barley, oats, and malt). Because product formulations change from time come time, they carry out not publish a list of gluten-free flavors.


Is Maggi bouillon gluten-free?

No. Beef and chicken spices both save wheat. According to Maggi, uneven a product is labeling gluten-free, it has actually not to be validated to be gluten-free.


Are Orrington farms broth bases gluten free?

Yes. Orrington ranches offers products that room gluten-free. In fact, lock have plenty of gluten-free options, including beef, chicken, ham, vegetable, French onion, gravy mixes, and vegan options. Look for the gluten-free brand on your packaging.


Is Wyler"s bouillon gluten-free?

No. The beef bouillon contains wheat. The chicken bouillon go not have actually a gluten-free claim and it contains yeast extract, therefore it must be avoided.

See more: 【Solved】 How To Delete Your Group On Roblox ? How To Delete A Group Shout On Roblox


Best Gluten-free Bouillon Options

When it pertains to bouillon, the safest choices are items v a gluten-free label. Many bouillon cubes and also powders contain wheat and other questionable ingredients, such as yeast extract, that may come native glutenous grains.

So also if a bouillon does not contain wheat, if it is not labeled gluten-free, it may be difficult to tell if you have the right to trust the product unless you visit the agency website for an ext information. In many cases, if the product is no labeled gluten-free, the agency is likewise not validating the it is safe to eat.

Currently, the safest brands providing gluten-free bouillons room Knorr, Herb-Ox, Orrington Farms, and also BOU since each of this brands will certainly label gluten-free flavors and are really transparent around ingredients that might contain gluten.

Do you have actually a go-to brand that bouillon? Is there another brand you"d like an ext information on? Drop it in the comments!

Thank you because that reading! If you preferred this article, be certain to check out connected topics below! Feel free to join my newsletter! I"ll send new gluten-free posts & recipes right to your received mailbox! Share this on Facebook and Pinterest using the social share buttons below! sharing helps an ext people prefer you learn from this articles! If you took pleasure in this article, permit me know in the comments!Thank you for your support!