Windshield: Non-reflective color is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.

You are watching: Is 5 tint legal in mississippi

Front next windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.Back side windows: Must allow an ext than 28% of irradiate in.Rear window: Must allow more than 28% of irradiate in.

Darkest legal color for SUV and also Vans in Mississippi

Windshield: Non-reflective color is allowed over the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.Front next windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.Back side windows: Any darkness deserve to be usedRear window: Any darkness deserve to be used

Please note: The accuracy, completeness, adequacy or money of the contents is not warranted or guaranteed. We are not lawyers or a legislation firm and also we execute not provide legal advice. Us recommend girlfriend consult a lawyer or other proper professional if you desire legal advice.

*
*

Mississippi window tint laws for vehicles were very first enacted earlier in 1988 and also were revised heavily in 2006, therefore by in large, Mississippi tint legislations account because that newer window tint technologies and products such together nanoceramic car home window film (originally developed for the wait and room industries), home window tints with large varieties that colors and reflectivity, and home window film the can refuse ultraviolet and also infrared solar power with or without changing the way windows look= and also more.To continue to be on the best side Mississippi color laws, it’s an important you understand the basics that vehicle home window tint metrics. You require to understand reflectivity, colors, and an ext than something else, around visible light transmission, or VLT. VLT describes the quantity of visible sunlight that can pass v the glass (and home window film there applied), effectively meaning how light or dark (how transparent or private, e,g.) the window is. The darker the automobile window, the reduced the VLT number, so a 5% VLT, also often dubbed limo tint, is rather dark and private. 100% VLT is completely clear.Understanding VLT numbers is so important due to the fact that in Mississippi home window tint tickets because that illegally dark window film deserve to up to $1,000 and can also lead come up to 3 months of jail time, or in the worst instance scenario, a fine and also a prison sentence.

Vehicle Tint legislations in Mississippi different by automobile Type

As you find in numerous states, cars room covered by various tint regulation than larger vehicles in the state that Mississippi. To store things clear, we’ll very first cover Mississippi automobile tint regulations in one section, then will certainly go end the window tint regulations because that SUVs, trucks, and vans in another. Store in mind the various home window tint exemptions are allowed in the state and can be granted for medical, commercial, or various other needs, so constantly inquire v a specialist from the DMV or various other state office or speak come a home window tint professional if you feel you need and also qualify for a window tint exemption permitting for darker or specialty home window tint because that your vehicle or other auto type.One thing to keep in mind is the unlike in countless states, all colors of home window film are at this time legal in Mississippi, for this reason you can have red, amber, yellow, silver, gold, and also other frequently banned window tint colors.

Mississippi vehicle Tint Laws

In Mississippi together in most states, windshield window tint is permitted down to the manufacturer AS-1 line, a strip significant with little lettering ~ above the windshield glass itself. This windshield tint need to be non-reflective. If the AS-1 line cannot it is in located, 보다 to store within the law, the a great idea not to tint down listed below five inch of the optimal of the windshield glass.Car side and rear home windows (meaning the behind windshield) room all governed by the same tint rules in Mississippi: car windows can be tinted under to 28% VLT, a darker tint than permitted in many states and much more than enough to include privacy and also to improve the solar power reduction that the home window tint. Keep in mind that also much lighter window film – indeed even clear-looking color – can reduce infrared heat and keep the vehicle cooler and also can block 99% of the sun’s UV light, avoiding cabin sun damages like faded upholstery and also cracked dashboards, so you require not get dark tint if friend are more concerned about solar energy and also damage reduction 보다 the privacy or layout of your car.Note the all vehicle tint in Mississippi should be not an ext than 20% reflective.

Van, SUV, and also Truck window Tint laws in Mississippi

Under Mississippi home window film laws, the same rules use to the windshields and front side home windows of bigger vehicles together they do to cars, specific non-reflective tint down come the AS-1 line on windshields and also 20% maximum reflective color of 28% VLT or much more on forward next windows. However, rear home windows (of any kind of rows behind the driver row) and the ago windshield of a truck, van, or SUV may be of any darkness of color including full privacy limo-style tint. This color can’t be much more than 20% reflective. And also note that while of food a usual sense necessity, twin side mirrors room actually no required even when rear home window tint is used in Mississippi.

Other Auto home window Tint Rules and Exemptions in Mississippi

As noted, lot of Mississippi home window tint law is quite permissive in that you have the right to use any kind of color that tint, 20% reflectivity is allowed, and also there room no side check out mirror requirements. Friend can also apply for clinical exemptions to Mississippi tint regulations if you feeling you need darker color than allowed (such together for eye or skin health issues).Manufacturers and vendors of home window tint in Mississippi need to certify the tint they offer in the state together compliant with laws, therefore be sure your installer or retailer has actually done so. You must likewise have stickers used to the front windshield of any car with tint that confirms the 28% or better VLT that all home window for cars and also for forward side home windows for bigger vehicles, and this sticker have to be plainly visible from external of the car.

See more: Nail Polish Remover On Glasses Lens, Will Acetone Damage Glasses Lenses

Mississippi window Tint Violation Penalties

Even together most window tint regulations for cars in Mississippi are relatively permissive, window tint violations can come v surprisingly harsh penalties if authorities choose to force maximums. A home window tint violation ticket can expense up come $1,000 because that an infraction (usually because that a second or 3rd violation, granted) and also can lead to a sentence of up to 3 months in jail, or also a prison sentence and also a financial fine.It is just not precious the threat of a harsh window tint punish in Mississippi, especially since of how dark tint have the right to legally be and the range of colors permitted. Examine with a home window tint expert if you worry your tint might not be legal so girlfriend don’t run afoul that Mississippi tint law and risk a an extremely unpleasant collection of repercussions since of it.